Wasted

Yeah, we spent six years together.

But I didn’t really pine.

Bring on the beer and wine,

Enough to make my eyes shine.

Don’t worry, I’ll be fine…

Without her smile.

 

She got way too needy.

So of course I left her

With no goodbye, not even a letter.

And now I’m free,

And I’ve got fun and unceasing laughter…

And regret.

 

This is the life, my friends:

Listening to the music pound,

No one holding us down,

Having fun day and night,

Spinning around town…

Alone.

 

No, I don’t think about her at all.

I’ll take another drink like this.

This is truly bliss.

I couldn’t have wished for better,

A night like this I’ll miss…

Her.

 

I’ll pay for the drinks.

No, I don’t mind.

Let’s leave the world behind.

A bar better than this

I’ll never find…

Someone like her.

 

The night is growing old,

But this party is set apart,

Even from the start.

I’ll never forget this.

These memories will fill my heart…

With emptiness.

4 thoughts on “Wasted”

  1. I thought it was a cool poem. I enjoyed how you explained the events in each stanza in a way so that they could end by showing how the narrator really felt. A recommendation I would make would be to smooth out the flow of the poem. Some of the lines rhymed but the ones that did not, seemed out of place and interrupted the flow as I was reading it.

    1. Thanks and once again, yes, I completely understand how it did not really flow at times. Flow was definitely a challenge with this poem.

  2. I liked the idea of this poem. It’s hard to lose “passion” for someone. You displayed the way the speaker still missed her but tried to burry the feeling really well especially the way you used drinking as a way to escape. The only thing I would revise is the rhyming pattern. It didn’t really flow how some lines rhymed and some didn’t, maybe I’m not looking hard enough for a pattern but that’s just my opinion. Good job!

    1. Thanks for understanding my poem and I do agree with the problems with the flow. I was really having trouble making it flow well. But thanks anyway!

Leave a comment