People

Sometimes I wonder do they not know

Or do they not care

Allergic to learning,

And obsessed with celeb hair

 

Sticks and stones

May break their bones

Yet your words they cannot condone

 

2 dogs, 1 an annoying barker,

You identify it as the one darker.

All you hear is “ooh racist,”

And, “ugh, I need a facelift”

 

Traveling through doors,

Struggle like the world wars.

“They both open! Did you know?”

“It’s like magic, come see my show”

 

And some will read this like,

“This offends me,”

But I’ll just laugh

Because you’re so salty

5 thoughts on “People”

  1. Hey! good job on trying social commentary here, but it was a little jumpy, and I don’t see faith all to clearly here!

  2. I like this poem! You described things effectively without being too obvious about it. The second line of the third stanza confuses me a bit. It rhymes with the line before it, but other than that I don’t see its purpose in the poem.

  3. this is quite an interesting poem. i enjoy how you play a commentary on civilization, and people as we know them. the last line got me raising my eyebrow though. why are they salty? you did good, and showed how fed up the writer is.

    1. Glad yuo enjoyed the sort of different “commentary” poetry, i was thinking it might suck since it was the first one i had done. ANyway the last line was just referring to people’s frustration when they have their flaws pointed out to them, which the whole poemw as about.

Leave a comment